A user must have a specific role assigned to them before they can approve or disapprove an article. The user must also have the appropriate role assigned to them in order to receive e-mail notifications.
A user can select whether or not they receive workflow notifications by selecting or clearing the Receive workflow notifications option on the User Profile page.
A user can have one or a combination of the following roles, except for Network Admin.
Network Admin — Can create, edit, approve, and publish articles on any site in the network.
Site Admin — Can create, edit, approve, and publish articles on the site.
Content Admin — Can create and edit articles they and others have created. Can approve articles at the creator, editor, and approver levels.
Channel Admin — Can create, edit, and lay out any channel on the site. Not a part of the content approval process, but receives an e-mail when an article is ready to be published.
Layout Publisher — Can only lay out channels assigned to them. Not a part of the content approval process, but receives an e-mail when an article is ready to be published.
Content Approver — Gives final approval before content is published, and approves articles at the approver level.
Content Editor — Can edit and approve articles at the editor level.
Content Creator — Can create and approve articles at the creator level.
E-mail notifications are sent when a:
Content Creator creates and approves the article — All content editors receive an e-mail.
Content Editor edits and approves the article — All content approvers receive an e-mail.
Content Approver approves the article — The article status is set to approved. The content creator, all channel admins and layout publishers receive an e-mail.
Site Admins and Content Admins receive a notification e-mail for every level of the workflow that an article is approved. To halt receipt of e-mail notifications, clear the Receive Workflow Emails option on the User Profile page.
Content Creator — A Content Creator cannot disapprove an article; they can only set the status to Pending. This includes collaborated articles.
Editor disapproves content — The Content Creator receives an e-mail.
Approver disapproves content — All Content Editors and the Content Creator receive an e-mail.
If a user expects to receive a workflow e-mail but does not, check his workflow settings in their user profile.