Page tree

For most roles and users, selecting [Custom Role Type] is all you need to do. This means that the role or user functions independently of a role type.

For advanced categorization, you can assign role types to both roles and users. Role types are useful for quickly managing the permissions of many users.

Two role types are included with Facility Scheduler: Member and Guest. For security purposes, you cannot edit or delete these role types. You also cannot create new role types.

 Role Types for Roles

When you assign a role type to a role, that role is linked to all other roles and users with that role type. All of the linked roles share permissions with each other.

For example, you create two new roles: Nursery Volunteer and Sunday School Volunteer. You give the Nursery Volunteer permissions to the Nursery calendar. You give the Sunday School Volunteer permissions to the Sunday School calendar. If you select [Custom Role Type] for these roles, their permissions remain as they are. Instead, you decide that you want these two roles to have the same permissions as each other. You link the two roles by assigning them a common role type of Member. Now, both the Nursery Volunteer and Sunday School Volunteer have the same permissions to both the Nursery and Sunday School calendars.

 To assign a role type to a role
  1. On the Administration tab, click Roles.
  2. Select the role.
  3. In the Actions group, click Edit Role.
  4. In the Role Type drop-down list, select the role type. (Choose either Member or Guest.)
  5. Click Save & Close.

If you decide that you no longer want a role to be associated with a role type, you can clear the role type.

 To clear a role type from a role
  1. On the Administration tab, click Roles.
  2. Select the role.
  3. In the Actions group, click Edit Role.
  4. In the Role Type drop-down list, select [Custom Role Type].
  5. Click Save & Close.

The role no longer has a role type; it is not linked to any other roles. You may want to update the role's permissions.

 Roles Types for Users

In addition to assigning role types to roles, you can assign role types directly to users. This is helpful if you want to manage the permissions of a single user without having to create a new role first.

When you assign a role type to a user, that user is linked to all of the roles and users with that role type. The user then has the same permissions as all of the linked roles.

For example, you have two roles related to children's services: Nursery Volunteer and Sunday School Volunteer. The Nursery Volunteer role has permissions to the Nursery calendar. The Sunday School Volunteer has permissions to the Sunday School calendar. You decided that you want these two roles to have the same permissions to both calendars. You linked the two roles by assigning them a common role type of Member.

Now, your church hires a new Children's Service Coordinator, Susan Smith. You add Susan Smith as a Facility Scheduler user. However, it's been a long day and you're really tired: instead of creating a new role only for Susan Smith, you simply assign her the common role type of Member. This way, Susan Smith is automatically given the same permissions to the Nursery and Sunday School calendars.

 To assign a role type to a user
  1. On the Administration tab, click Users.
  2. Select the user.
  3. In the Actions group, click Edit User.
  4. In the Show group, click Roles.
  5. In the Role Type drop-down list, select the role type. (Choose either Member or Guest.)
  6. In the Actions group, click Save & Close.

If you decide that you no longer want a user to be associated with a role type, you can clear the role type.

 To clear a role type from a user
  1. On the Administration tab, click Users.
  2. Select the user.
  3. In the Actions group, click Edit User.
  4. In the Show group, click Roles.
  5. In the Role Type drop-down list, select [Custom Role Type].
  6. In the Actions group, click Save & Close.

The user no longer has a role type; it is not linked to any other roles or users. You may want to assign a new role to the user.



Related Topics