Page tree

Log of User Activity

The Log of User Activity displays the date, time, and user name associated with activities performed or entries made in the program. If the program administrator doesn't require a user name to enter the program, "PDS User" is recorded for the name.

On the Administration tab, click View User Log. To reorder the log, click Order By and select a column heading. To print a report of activity, click Log Report.

Filtering the Log

You can filter the log using the options at the top to view all logged items, only changed items, or only deleted items. To see these, you must select Ask for Reason on Significant Changes in the Initial Setup window.

To search for a specific log entry, click Filter. Enter the user name, activity performed, or program name you want to find. To search for results within a specific date range or date/time range, select the option and enter the values. Click Filter/OK.

Note

You must enter the value exactly as it appears in the log.

For example, to find entries where a member's name was changed, enter "Member name changed". If you enter "changed member name", no log entries are found.

Your filter is applied until you click Clear Filter.

Deleting Log Entries

Administrators can click Delete Log Entries to delete log entries before a specified date. In the Delete Entries Before field, enter a cut-off date, or click the calendar icon  to select a date. All entries prior to the date entered are deleted when you click Yes.

List of Users Currently in the Program

You can view a list of users currently in the program and the name of the computer they are using. You can use this feature when other network users are working in the program and preventing you from performing a task, such as a backup. To view the list, on the Quick Access toolbar, click the users icon .

Notify and Dismiss Users

You can send a message to users currently using and entering the program. You can also force users to exit if you need exclusive access to the program.

Useful Information

Administrators can limit who is able to notify other users. In Users & Passwords, select an access option under Users and Passwords > Notify Users.

 To notify and dismiss other users
  1. On the Quick Access toolbar, click the users icon.
  2. Click Notify Users.
  3. Review the message. If needed, edit it to meet your needs.
  4. Select whether to send a message or to notify and dismiss users.
    • If you just want to notify other users without making them exit, select Send the message to those using and entering the program.
    • Otherwise, select the Exclusive access option to notify and force users to exit the program. Enter the number of minutes to allow users to exit before the program closes.
  5. When you're ready to notify users, click Send Notification.
  6. Read the information to understand what happens now, then click OK.
  7. Click the X in the top-right corner, click Close, then continue with what you need to do in the program.

Useful Information

Users currently using or entering the program will see the message until you exit or turn off the notification.

 

When it's no longer needed, make sure to turn off the notification. If you selected to have exclusive access, you must turn off the notification in order for other users to get into the program.

 To turn off the notification
  1. On the Quick Access toolbar, click the users icon.
  2. Click Notify Users.
  3. Click Turn Off Notification.
  4. Click the X in the top-right corner, then click Close.

  

These actions are recorded in the Log of User Activity.



Related Topics