We've moved! Click  on any page in Realm to be redirected to Realm's new Help Center and see only the content that pertains to your Realm package. Be sure to update your bookmarks before the the old site goes offline on May 15th!

Page tree

You can use Realm messaging to start conversations with other people in your church. If messaging is turned on for your group, a group also has a group-based channel where all members can hold a joint conversation. 

You can also create private individual messages between yourself and others. When you start a new message, you choose whether to add just one person, or several people. If you start a message with just one person, you won't be able to add more people to the conversation later on.

Creating and Managing Messages

 To start a new message
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. To start a new message click .
  4. In the To field, begin entering the name of the person you want to message.
  5. Select the name from the drop-down menu. You can add more than one person to the conversation.
  6. Enter your message in the Type a message field.
  7. To add a file or image to the message, click  and select the file.
  8. To add an emoji to the message, click and select the emjoi.
  9. Click Send.
  • If you start a message with only one person, you won't be able to include additional people in the conversation later.
  • If you start a message with multiple people, you can add new people to the conversation later.
  • If you start a new message with the same recipients as a previous message, you will see the history of the your old conversations.
 To respond to a message
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click the message in the Recent column. This displays the newest responses to the message.
  4. Enter your message in the Type a message field.
  5. To add a file or image to the message, click  and select the file.
  6. To add an emoji to the message, click and select the emjoi.
  7. Click Send.

If you need to enter many responses quickly, you can select the Press Enter key to send option.

 To add someone to a message
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click the message in the Recent column.
  4. Click , then select Add People.
  5. Begin entering the name of the person you want to add.
  6. Select the name from the drop-down menu. You can add more than one person to the conversation.
  7. Click Add.

You can only add more people to an existing conversation if you started the message with more than one person.

 To leave a conversation
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click the message in the Recent column.
  4. Click , then select Leave Conversation.
  5. Click Continue.

If you leave the conversation, you will lose access to past messages and will not receive notifications about new activity.

Archiving Messages

 To archive a message
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click the message in the Recent column.
  4. To archive the message, click , then select Archive.
 To view an archived message
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click Recent, then select Archived from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click the message in the Archived column.
 To restore an archived message
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click Recent, then select Archived from the drop-down menu.
  4. Click the message in the Archived column.
  5. Enter your message in the Type a message field and click Send. This automatically moves the message into the Recent column again.

Managing Message Notifications

 To mute message notifications
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click the message in the Recent column.
  4. To mute notifications for the message, click .
  5. Choose a mute duration. You can select a certain time-frame, such as 1 hour, or mute the notification until you choose to turn it back on.
  6. Click Mute.
 To unmute message notifications
  1. Log into the site.
  2. In the Community menu, click Messages.
  3. Click the message in the Recent column.
  4. To unmute notifications for the message, click .
  5. Click Unmute.


When you create a new message, any recipient who uses the mobile app receives an app notification. Anyone who doesn't respond to the message also receives an email with all message activity for the first 5 minutes.

If you reply to a message, you will continue to receive notifications for new activity in that conversation. However, you can choose to mute discussions for a certain amount of time, or forever. You can also choose to leave a private discussion, which will completely remove the message history and prevent you from receiving new activity notifications. 

If a message is no longer useful, you may choose to archive it. Archived messages are available under the Archived section. If you need to restore an archived message to the Recent section, all you have to do is type something new in the old message. 

All messaging carries over real-time between Realm's web version and the mobile app, so you can check messages on the go!