After you select a method of promotion (Continue Current Master Group or Create New Master Group), the Promotion window displays.
The current group information displays on the left and next year's information displays on the right. The upper pane displays the group information, and the lower pane displays the individual information. You can customize the lower pane to display fields such as group name, status, and class position.
If you select Continue Current Master Group, you won't move any individuals who are remaining in the same class. If you do, a dropped record and a new record are created for those individuals inside the same class.
If you select Create New Master Group, you must move all individuals from the old master group to the new group, even individuals who are remaining in the same class. For example, if you have a class called College and Career, and all of those individuals will remain in that class next year, you will still move them from the College and Career class in the current group to the College and Career Class in next year's group.
You can close and reopen the Promotion window, and the information saves each time. For example, if you move individuals from Nursery through 6th grade to their new classes and need to stop and go to a meeting, all of the individuals you've moved are saved.
Nothing in the Promotion window is permanent until you click the Promote option on the Promotion menu. You can review and make any corrections necessary before completing promotion. When you click Promote, you will not be able to move forward unless you have an ACS Backup that was made within the last two days.
You can also have more than one master group's promotion in progress in the Promotion Menu at the same time. For example, you can work on the Sunday School promotion while another church administrator works on the Awana Club promotion.